Wisconsin Rental Agreement Templates
Wisconsin lease agreements are real estate contracts that bind a landlord and tenant over the use of a property. Each party must abide by the terms and conditions as written in the lease agreement. If either party breaks the lease, the other has the right to recover damages. The most common form of damage occurs when a tenant defaults by not paying rent and will thus be subject to eviction.
Wisconsin Residential Lease Agreement
A Wisconsin residential lease agreement is for tenants and landlords seeking a fixed agreement for the use of property in exchange for rent. The tenant typically makes payments on the 1st of every month and the term is commonly 12 months. Before authorizing an agreement, the landlord will usually want to check the tenant’s credit and income sources through the use of the rental application. After approval, the tenant and landlord will sign a lease, and all required deposits and first month’s rent (or pro-rata share) will be due in order to obtain access to the property.
Wisconsin Month-to-Month Rental Agreement
The Wisconsin month-to-month rental agreement is a written document between a landlord and tenant that officially recognizes a legally binding relationship between the two parties. This document outlines an agreement for the renting of property and details the monthly rent, property description, in addition to the landlord and tenant’s responsibilities.
Wisconsin Rental Application Form
A Wisconsin rental application gives consent from an applicant to a landlord to perform a consumer report on them. This allows the landlord to use a screening company to check a person’s credit history, employment, and references. A landlord may charge a fee to the tenant for screening with a decision of approval within 24 to 72 hours.
Wisconsin Roommate Agreement
The Wisconsin roommate agreement (“room rental agreement”) is a document shared by two or more tenants in a shared residential situation. This contract clarifies the responsibilities of each tenant, including financial obligations, rules, and terms. In compliance with Wisconsin state law, all co-tenants must sign the contract.
Wisconsin Commercial Lease Agreement
The Wisconsin commercial lease agreement is a binding contract between a business entity and the owner or landlord of commercial space. This allows the business to operate out of an industrial, office, or retail space and defines the responsibilities of each party involved in the agreement.
Wisconsin Security Deposit Laws
Maximum Amount ($) – No Statewide deposit limit.
Returning – Security deposits must be returned within twenty-one (21) days following the expiration of the tenancy (§ 134.06(2)).
Wisconsin Required Disclosures
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – If the unit on the property was constructed prior to 1978, the lead-based paint disclosure form is needed to be signed by the tenant and attached to the rental agreement.
Owner/Manager Information – Tenants will need to receive a statement indicating the name and address of both the property owner and the individual(s) with permission to manage the property (§ 134.04(1)).
Property Condition – Before the landlord enters into a rental agreement or accepts a deposit from the tenant, the landlord must disclose information regarding the status of any housing or building code violations, whether the unit lacks hot or cold water and other conditions which affect the livability of the unit (§ 134.04(2)).
Utility Charges – Tenants must be informed of whether they are expected to pay additional expenses for heat, electricity, or water. Additionally, if there are multiple units and common areas that are not independently metered, and the meter charges are not incorporated into the tenant’s rent, the criteria by which the landlord determines the utility charges must be disclosed to the tenant (§ 134.04(3)).
Right to Inspect Property – Within seven (7) days following the start of a tenancy, the landlord must inform the tenant that they may inspect the premises and report any damages affecting the property. The tenant must also be notified within the seven (7) day period that they may request a list of damages that were deducted from the previous tenant’s security deposit (§ 134.06(1)).
Wisconsin Rent Grace Period
There is no grace period for late rent in Wisconsin. The lease should be referenced when determining when a late fee may be charged.