State Rules and Regulations for Kansas Rental Properties and Landlords


In Kansas, if a written or oral lease or a landlord accepts regular rent payments, then according to Kansas Law (Kansas Residential Landlord & Tenant Act) a renter has certain rights, including the right to a habitable dwelling, and the right to due process before evictions.

Landlords also have certain rights, including the right to collect rent in a timely manner and be reimbursed for costs from damages that exceed normal wear and tear.


Kansas Official Rules and Regulations

Property Maintenance

Once the tenancy has begun, the tenant must conduct a joint inspection of the property with the landlord (or landlord’s agent) within five days. Both parties shall sign and keep a copy of the property inspection report. [K.S.A. 58-2548]

The Kansas Landlord Tenant Act requires the landlord to maintain the property in a safe and habitable condition. It also requires the tenant to keep the property in a clean and safe condition.

If Landlord Fails to Maintain Property

If the landlord fails in his or her responsibilities, the tenant has two choices:

1. The tenant can move out (if it affects the tenant’s health and safety)

The tenant must give the landlord a written notice stating the problem and giving the landlord 14 days to fix it, or else the tenant will move out in 30 days. If the problem is fixed within 14 days (of the landlord receiving this notice), the tenancy will continue.

If the landlord commits a similar violation within 14 days, the tenant can terminate the tenancy with a written 30 day notice stating the violation date and details. In this case, the termination shall be unconditional and the landlord won’t be given the chance to correct his or her violations. [K.S.A. 58-2559.(a)(1)]

2. The tenant can sue the landlord for damages

If the landlord violates the rental agreement or Kansas landlord tenant law, the tenant can sue the landlord for damages and obtain obtain a court order (that requires the landlord to do, or stop doing something).



Security Deposits and Kansas Regulations

  • Standard Limit/Maximum Amount – 1 month (furnished), 1 ½ month’s rent (unfurnished), ½ month’s rent (pets).
  • Time Limit for Returns – 14 with request, 30 days otherwise.
  • Penalty if not Returned on Time – If a landlord wrongfully withholds a security deposit then they could be required to pay up to 1.5 times the original amount as a penalty.
  • Allowable Deductions – missing rent, repairs for damages that exceed wear and tear.
  • Failure to Comply: If the landlord fails to comply with the rules governing the return of the security deposit, the tenant may sue to recover the portion of the security deposit that is due, plus damages equal to one and a half the amount wrongfully withheld. (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2550(c))
  • Pet Deposits: In addition to a security deposit, landlords may charge a pet deposit totaling no more than one-half of one month’s rent. (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2550(a))

Lease, Rent & Fees Under Kansas Law

  • Rent Is Due: Unless otherwise agreed to in the lease, rent is due at the beginning of any term of one month or less (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2545(c)).
  • Rent Increase Notice: As stated in the lease (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2545).
  • Rent Grace Period: No statute.
  • Late Fees: As stated in the lease (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2545).
  • Prepaid Rent: No statute.
  • Returned Check Fees: $30.
  • Tenant Allowed to Withhold Rent for Failure to Provide Essential Services (Water, Heat, etc.): There is no statute allowing tenants to withhold rent, but for landlord violations of the lease or statutory landlord duties, the tenant may terminate the agreement with 30 days’ written notice that provides the landlord with 14 days to remedy the violation. See statute for further details (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2559).
  • Tenant Allowed to Repair and Deduct Rent: No statute.
  • Landlord Allowed to Recover Court and Attorney Fees: No lease may include a provision for either the landlord or tenant to agree to pay the other’s attorney fees (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2547(3)).
  • Landlord Must Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate Damages to Lessee, including an Attempt to Rerent: Yes (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2565(c))
  • Abandonment/Early Termination Fee: There is no statute for abandonment/early termination fees, but if the tenant abandons the rental unit and leaves personal property, the landlord may take possession of the property, store it at the tenant’s expense, and sell or dispose of it after 30 days. See statute for required notification prior to sale and for the allowed uses of the proceeds of such sale. (Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2565(d))

Evictions in Kansas

Kansas landlords may evict tenants for the following reasons:

  1. Nonpayment of rent – if a tenant fails to pay rent within the first three months, then the landlord may issue a 3-Day Notice to Pay or Quit. If the tenant has rented for more than 3 months the landlord may file a 10-Day Notice to Pay or Quit. In both cases, if rent goes unpaid then the landlord can pursue formal eviction.
  2. Violation of lease terms – if a lease violation occurs, then landlords may issue a 14/30-Day Notice to Cure or Quit. The tenant must fix their behavior within 14 days. If they fail to do so then they must move out in the next 30 days.
  3. Illegal acts – Kansas landlords have generally broad authority to determine which illegal acts are grounds for eviction. If an illegal activity occurs, the landlord may pursue immediate eviction.

At-will tenants are entitled to at least 30 days’ notice before eviction. Also, landlords are prohibited from evicting as retaliation for reporting violations or joining a tenant union, and for discriminatory reasons.


Helpful Links

State Agencies & Regulatory Bodies

Housing Authorities

Realtor and Landlord/Tenant Associations


These resources are for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. Landlords and Tenants are encouraged to seek specific legal advice for any of the issues as found in this blog.

  1. Tammy L Parker

    My landlord gave me a 3 day eviction over the weekend I have been in my apartment for a year I have all receipts

  2. Lynda Marie Rethman

    After inspection we noticed that the waste from the toilet is leaking down into the basement. What are my rights? We have no other place to live

  3. Lindsey D Shockley

    I have lived in my place for 9yrs. rent always paid if was gonna be late always kept in contact or paid in 2 parts. my electricity is added into my rent and the landlord pays the bill as i live on a ranch and all the rentals are on one master bill but each address has its own account if that makes sense. Every unit has electric added in to their rent. my question is . is it illegal for the landlord to have your utilities shut off because they are trying to force you out of the home by shutting them off? i have recieved no notice to evict or anything and my lease isnt up until august. i was not aware of the shut off as i was in town for the weekend and when i came home the house was hot. my pets were hot as heck cuz ac went out. and i lost aprox. $400 in groceries . then i had it turned back on in my name…and the landlord came and himself shut my power off at the pole which is where the main is for the well and house. and master locked it closed with a red lock. isnt this illegal? the power is in my name and i would say its tampering! not once was i called and told anything was goin to take place like this . i could have lost my canines which are ESA for my sons. please lead me the correct way for this situation!

  4. Angie Evans

    Is it legal to change the locks to the rental property on the 31st day if you’ve given a 30 eviction notice?


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *